Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Rebecca CollinsRebecca Collins
      Participant

Hey folks, my name is Ryan. We all know how this horrible affliction can have an effect on our daily lives whether its mental or physical or what our loved ones goes through while we suffer. I’m a 10 year vet when it comes to cluster headaches and a chronic sufferer. Cluster headaches destroyed my life. These last 5 months have been complete hell. I lost my partner, lost my job that I loved, losing my dogs and now losing my home, all because of cluster headaches. I have no medical insurance so all money for ER visits and failed medications come out of my pocket, thus leaving me with a negative balance in my checking account that I can do nothing about. I applied for food stamps, Medicaid and disability, but its a waiting game for paperwork to be processed. I’ll be homeless by the end of the month but hopefully I’ll have food stamps and possibly Medicaid. My attacks are so chronic, random and strong that I can’t hold down any job that has a set schedule and because this condition prevents me from working, I cannot claim unemployment benefits. My power will be turned off tomorrow at 5pm so I’ll have to use the library to get internet access. It’s so hard to get help and I’ve been trying so damn hard. I’m just so depressed and losing my dogs just kills me because they’ve been the best emotional support for me through all of this. Why do these attacks keep getting stronger? I could at least handle the middle of the night 20 min attacks but now its 2 to 3 hours per attack. Everyday, every frickin’ day. I set up a go fund me page to try to at least raise money to keep my dogs and my apartment but I’ve gotten no response. I don’t have much of a family so no help for me there. Not sure what I do at this point. At least turning here to this site, with others like me, gives me some sense of being heard and understood. Feels better than being ignored for 5 months until your life falls ap